Seven Locks PTA

___ Verify PTA Directory, Pay PTA Dues, Pay Per Child PTA Donations & Enroll Grocery Cards (Click here for our AtoZ Platform.  Need help? click here

___ Did You Miss Back To School Nights? (Click Here to download BTS Power Point)

___ Visit  NEW EVENT. SLESEF is hosting a fabulous Parent's Night Out Fundraiser with a tandem ChildCare Drop Off (Hosted by Kidsco) to make it easy to support SLES Foundation & mingle with parents and staff while the kiddos have fun too!  Make Friday Nov 7th, SLESEF Night & help support projects such as a new SHADE CANOPY for SLES.

___  COMMON CORE?  CURRICULUM 2.0?  Old MSAs?  NEW PARCC Tests?  New Standards Based Report Cards?  What does this all mean?   Visit the MCPS website link to learn more -- important academic information for ALL PARENTS & STUDENTS

Quick Links

Need to Know

Upcoming dates


  • URGENT COMMUNITY SERVICE NEED BY THIS THURSDAY:  We need more coats and more food items for our thanksgiving basket and winter coat drive.  These items are given to families in our own SLES community.  Please open your hearts and donate.  Items must be delivered to school no later than this Thursday (11/20).  Please sign up to donate.
  • 2014-15 READING INCENTIVE PROGRAM  - Bring in tracking sheets this Friday to earn a prize.  Wild About Reading is the theme of this year's SLES Reading Incentive program. The program is open to all grades.  Students should bring in their tracking sheets to earn prizes.  First deadline is November 21.  Find more info here.
  • COUNSELOR COFFEE - Wednesday, 11/19 at 9:45 a.m.  Helping Kids Choose, Make and Keep Friends.  RSVP's are encouraged, but not required.  Please RSVP to Laurie Steinberg.
  • SPIRIT WEAR ORDER DEADLINE - THIS THURSDAY (11/20)  If you would like to order Spirit Wear in time for holiday delivery, please order no later than Thursday, Nov. 20.  You can order online here or fill out this form and return to school marked "PTA Spirit Wear Order".  
  • THANK YOU FOR AN AMAZING INTERNATIONAL NIGHT CELEBRATION. On behalf of the PTA Board we want to share a huge THANK YOU to this year's amazing Chair of International Night, Kerstin Mukerji and her committee volunteers, especially Nelly marino and the 17 student volunteers along with the volunteer families who joined together from 22 countries who prepared delightful foods and beautiful educational table displays form the more than 250+ guests who attended last Friday night's festiivities.  We also thank all of the student performers who made the night very entertaining. Please check back here for photos later this week.
  • CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR REFLECTIONS WINNERS.  On Wednesday, November 5, attendees of the Reflections Ceremony were amazed and delighted with all of the different artistic entries presented by SLES students.  Thank you to the Committee Chairs, and congratulations to the following winners who will move onto the Montgomery County competition:                    Literature:  Ayla Ihsan (5th) and Brielle Taubenblatt (5th)                                             Visual Arts:  Ayla Ihsan (5th), Tiger and Jasmine Noone (4th and 1st), Briell Taubenblatt (5th), Sage Johnson (1st), Benjamin Mattison (1st) and Ridge Johnson (1st)                                                                  Photography:  Brielle Taubenblatt (5th) and Amanda Oliver (5th)

Ayla Ihsan, 5th
Brielle Taubenblatt, 5th

Visual Arts:
Ayla Ihsan, 5th
Tiger and Jasmine Noone, 4th and 1st
Brielle Taubenblatt, 5th
Sage Johnson, 1st
Benjamin Mattison, 1st
Ridge Johnson, 1st

Brielle Taubenblatt, 5th
Amanda Oliver, 5th

URGENT - COMMUNITY SERVICE NEED.  We need numerous more items to help fill Thanksgiving Baskets and provide Coats for SLES students before November 20.  We have families at SLES and in our community that need our support.  Please sign up here to bring in coats and food/gift cards for our Thanksgiving baskets.  All items should be dropped off in the bins in the SLES hallway by this Thursday, Nov. 20. Thank you for your Support!!

BUDDY FAMILIES NEEDED!  We have several new families waiting to be matched with a veteranBuddy Family.  If you are interested in being a Buddy Family, please contact Sadaf or click here to volunteer. 

Character Education Program - Our 3rd, 4th and 5th grade students have been given a wonderful opportunity to help educate the lower grades on the significant of the SLES Character Education Program.  The Character Education Committee is organizing an assembly in which the upper grades will teach the lower grades what this program is all about.  The 3rd, 4th and 5th graders are being challenged to script, design the set, create costumes and act out each of these five character traits.  We need parent volunteers to supervise their efforts to ensure they put on a fantastic performance.  Please sign up here to volunteer.  

VOLUNTEER TO LEAD ONE OF THE SLES PTA'S NEW PROJECTS - ODYSSEY OF THE MIND and KEYBOARDING  The PTA is looking for individuals interested in launching these 2 new programs.  Odyssey of the Mind offers 3rd-5th grade SLES students the opportunity to compete as a team to apply their creativity to solve problems that range from building mechanical devices to presenting their own interpretation of literary classics. We need someone to serve as the team's coach.  We are also looking for 1-2 parents who can assist with an after school Keyboarding Enrichment Program for 3rd-5th graders to assist them with using their new Chrome Books which are arriving this month.  Please contact PTA President Kaushika Patel if you can help with either of these initiatives.  


Your To Do List